Tuesday, 23 September 2014

Rusty As Eff.

So hows everyone on this glorious Tuesday?

I'm great thanks for asking! Jokes on me no one asked.

Anyways, today I had drawing class. Yay. And you know what we did in drawing today? LIFE DRAWING! Yay..(again!)


So for those who are aware (and those who aren't) I am a big fan of life drawing. Life drawing is like the fundamentals for anyone pursuing the arts, because it helps you to develop the understanding of the human figure.  It helps you break down the human figure into lines, shapes and tones; and what you can take from it I believe that you can apply it to any form of drawing or painting. 

I don't know.

But what I do know is that there is something about life drawing thats excites me (and no it is not the naked models...most of the models we get are a little too old for my liking). I can't really explain the feeling I get from life drawing. But it's that feeling that encourages me to keep drawing and just makes me happy. 

So yeah. We did some life drawing today and since I haven't done any real life drawing for about a year, I was super, crazy rusty. It felt a little weird trying to get into a life drawing kind of mindset. But I managed! I actually did a little better then I expected for being super out of practice.

And with that, I give you some of my drawings from todays class. Let it be known that they aren't my best BUT they are as good as they get for now! (Note: the model that we had in class was a man, just wanted to clarify).









So what we started off with were some 2 min sketches. As you can see some of the lovelies weren't complete. I always seem to end up with a lot of drawings without any feet (whats up with that?). They started to get a little better as I kept going and I felt like I was kind of getting back into my groove. After that, we moved onto 30 sec poses. That felt a little bit like a train wreck oh boy!






As much of train wreck as 30 sec poses can be, I still love them. They are more gestural and they really get you to focus on the basics. So after that, then our drawing teacher asked us to draw with our non-dominant hand. That felt like a challenge for sure but honestly it wasn't that bad. It was actually pretty good.





So after that, we started drawing with are experimental mediums that we have been playing with for that last week or so (mine were blueberries). Now this was just kind of meh but whatever. Not a huge fan of any of the drawings I did for this part of class but this one is the best one I think out of the set of three I did.


So yeah. That was today! Today was pretty awesome. Now that drawing class is long and gone, it's off to read and write a paper I really don't want to do. Anyone want to do it for me? No takers? Okay. I'll go be sad and attempt to write it.

Bye!

-Cagsyy








No comments:

Post a Comment