Thursday, 25 September 2014

Throw Back Time-White Mage Design.

Happy Thursday everyone!

So this weeks throw back is brought to you by a character design that I did last year of an old character of mine. I love making new characters and designing them so you might see a few more along the way. 

So once upon a time, when I was little me and my cousins would sit around either at our house or at my Aunts house and play Legend of Zelda. We would all sit around the television and take turns playing Ocarina of Time. It was such a good time. 

So me and my super artsy cousin Emma would come with character designs and pretend that they were fighting alongside Link and help him save Hyrule. Her character was named Lee and was Links little sister and my character was named Shira. From what I remember I decided that she was from a ancient line of white mages that was taken in by Impa with no memory of her past. She can also secretly do quite a bit of dark magic, and it's because of her abilities she a person of interest for Ganondorf to recruit.

This is one of the oldest drawings I could find of her that I still have.


When I started to develop characters, I honestly wasn't very good at it. Do you honestly think she looks like a white mage? Not to me..

So the more I started drawing and creating characters, the more my designs got better and better. So eventually my design skills (or lack there of) has brought me to this point with her design.


So here is her new design as of last year! I really liked how it turned out. She has a white mage sort of design with a different twist. I was looking at a lot of different designs for a white mage and fused them together and this is what I got. 

I really liked her hairstyle so I decided to keep it. Her hair is styled like that because she is hiding her one eye that has a mystic incantation on it. It is because of the incantation on her eye that she can do dark magic spells too alongside her using white magic. I didn't want to over complicate her design since I find that most of designs within Ocarina of Time aren't overly complicated. 

With the release of Hyrule Warriors and with the seeing the design of Lana, I might tweek her design a little bit. But not a crazy amount since I am still really proud of it.

So yeah. Happy Thursday!! Hope everyone is enjoying their Thursdays and stay tuned for more throw backs with me~

Bye!

-Cagsyy

Tuesday, 23 September 2014

Rusty As Eff.

So hows everyone on this glorious Tuesday?

I'm great thanks for asking! Jokes on me no one asked.

Anyways, today I had drawing class. Yay. And you know what we did in drawing today? LIFE DRAWING! Yay..(again!)


So for those who are aware (and those who aren't) I am a big fan of life drawing. Life drawing is like the fundamentals for anyone pursuing the arts, because it helps you to develop the understanding of the human figure.  It helps you break down the human figure into lines, shapes and tones; and what you can take from it I believe that you can apply it to any form of drawing or painting. 

I don't know.

But what I do know is that there is something about life drawing thats excites me (and no it is not the naked models...most of the models we get are a little too old for my liking). I can't really explain the feeling I get from life drawing. But it's that feeling that encourages me to keep drawing and just makes me happy. 

So yeah. We did some life drawing today and since I haven't done any real life drawing for about a year, I was super, crazy rusty. It felt a little weird trying to get into a life drawing kind of mindset. But I managed! I actually did a little better then I expected for being super out of practice.

And with that, I give you some of my drawings from todays class. Let it be known that they aren't my best BUT they are as good as they get for now! (Note: the model that we had in class was a man, just wanted to clarify).









So what we started off with were some 2 min sketches. As you can see some of the lovelies weren't complete. I always seem to end up with a lot of drawings without any feet (whats up with that?). They started to get a little better as I kept going and I felt like I was kind of getting back into my groove. After that, we moved onto 30 sec poses. That felt a little bit like a train wreck oh boy!






As much of train wreck as 30 sec poses can be, I still love them. They are more gestural and they really get you to focus on the basics. So after that, then our drawing teacher asked us to draw with our non-dominant hand. That felt like a challenge for sure but honestly it wasn't that bad. It was actually pretty good.





So after that, we started drawing with are experimental mediums that we have been playing with for that last week or so (mine were blueberries). Now this was just kind of meh but whatever. Not a huge fan of any of the drawings I did for this part of class but this one is the best one I think out of the set of three I did.


So yeah. That was today! Today was pretty awesome. Now that drawing class is long and gone, it's off to read and write a paper I really don't want to do. Anyone want to do it for me? No takers? Okay. I'll go be sad and attempt to write it.

Bye!

-Cagsyy








Thursday, 18 September 2014

Throw Back Thursday-Untitled Print.

Hey there everyone!

So because I wasn't posting for a LONG time, I decided to catch you guys up on some of the things that I actually did throughout the year. I didn't do a crazy amount but I figured that maybe someone would want to see what I did. Maybe? I don't know! Either way, I decided that on Thursdays I will do a throwback and show you a piece of work that I did last year. I will end up doing this up until I have nothing to show.

So lets get this party started.



So I was in a print media class last year, and print is not my thing. The only reason that I was taking it was that it was mandatory for my program and since I didn't take a print studio class in VCA, I didn't have a transfer credit to get out of it. I guess it wasn't too crazy bad. That's how I made some of my good university friends.

Yay friends!

Anyways, this was like one of the last assignments of the class. We just finished playing around with hard ground etching and then we got introduced to this assignment. The goal was to make a print that was emulating some form of light (or something like that..I honestly can't remember anymore). After that the printmaking teacher Nancy (who was seriously awesome) taught us how to use soft ground and aquatint.

So what I did was I used an old shutter speed photo of mine and used it as my reference point.



And pretty much what I did was just made the image vertical. Pretty simple. All I tried to do was make similar lines and movements to what I saw in the photo. I did at least two layers of soft ground (with some some liquid hard ground blocking out the lines) that sat for at least 15-30 mins in the acid bath. Then I did a layer of aquatint overtop and then sanded around the lines to attempt to give it a hazy sort of effect.

I am really proud of how this print turned out. It had to be hands down my favourite print that I did that whole semester. Print wasn't really my area of speciality but I found out after that assignment that I really enjoyed doing copper etching. It was so fun, and afterwards for my final project I did another copper etching (that is lost forever..sad life) that was inspired by the Castle in the Sky movie. Love Studio Ghibli. I think I still have the concept drawing for it somewhere so I believe that I will put it up sometime soon.

And that's it!

This is your first of many throwbacks with me! Woo! So expect to see posts like these where I show you my old art on Thursdays. Yay Thursdays!

So yeah, I'm off to relax with my tea and tumblr.

See you all soon!

-Cagsyy



Wednesday, 17 September 2014

Re-Introduction.

I feel like since I started to pick up this blog where I left it off last year, I feel like I need a whole new introduction. I feel like the girl that I was when I started this blog isn't exactly the same girl who is with you now. I started this blog, all I ever really intended on doing with this blog was to have it for my professional practice in VCA to show that I had an online presence. That I had somewhere other then tumblr to show my artwork. After that class was over, I was going to nothing with this blog. Nothing at all.

I didn't think that I would be able to keep up with a blog and that if people wanted to see my art that they could just see it on tumblr or something (kind of a foolish thought I know). Anyways, I tried keeping up with it and as a result I have already taken two really long hiatuses and not really a lot to show for them.

But as I already described in one of my previous blog posts, last year was a little rough. Things got a little intense and made it really hard to keep posting my work and making new and pretty pieces. I was in a slump! But not anymore.

So with that I decided that it felt appropriate to give you guys a new introduction.

So...

Hi Everyone,

My name is Katelynne Cagliostro and I am currently an Art and Art History student at the University of Toronto Mississauga.
  • I have recently gotten into cosplaying and dressing up in the J-Fashion style called "Lolita". The picture above is me dressed up in lolita (also that is not my real hair, I wish it was though haha)
  • I am currently living in a new apartment that I absolutely adore right now and I am living with my best friend of 7-8 years (give or take). We live with another girl who is in my friend's design program and she is super cool (she likes owls and Legend of Zelda...I think she's a keeper), as well as two super cute but super mischievous cats! 
  • I am still addicted to tumblr. Not much has changed there! I'm always on tumblr and always getting inspiration from all the amazing things I see on tumblr
  • I am very much inspired by the Japanese style called Mori Girl/ Mori Kei. It is so pretty and so effortless at the same time and it almost makes me feel like a little forest child. I absolutely adore it and I am very slowly trying to gear my own style towards that kind of look
  • I'm am into botany and the study of plants. I like flowers a lot and I am a self proclaimed "flower child". I love flowers/plants and I always feel like I need some surrounding me. My Aunt owns her own flower shop and so they've always been around me. I would always stop into the shop to look at all the beautiful arrangements she makes and I even helped out with taking care of the flowers and cleaning them.
  • I've become quite the tea addict. I don't even know how it happened but I am in love with tea and all of the different flavours. My absolute favourite flavour is strawberry cream. I find that when I'm depressed or just feel like I need some form of comfort, a nice cup of tea makes it all better. It's like a hug in a cup!
  • I am still trying to figure out, at 22 years old what I want to do with my life. It's almost really depressing. But at least I know I want to work in the arts. I know that's where I belong. I am currently swaying between teaching art or being an art therapist. I really like helping people and making them feel better so I really think that art therapy would be my way of helping those who really need it. 
And yeah. Enough about me. I think that's a fairly reasonable introduction. You'll now end up learning more about me as time goes on and I start to post more. I hope that as I post more, you'll get a sense of the fun, quirky person that I can be! You'll see everything.

The good, the bad, and the ugly.

Because it's all me. Unfiltered and always growing.

...I'm going to stop now.

Toddles.

-Cagsyy

Tuesday, 16 September 2014

Playing with food.

....And a few other things. 

I haven't had a drawing class in over a year. It's pretty crazy since I go to art school, I know. But because I had transfer credits from being in the Visual and Creative Arts program at Sheridan College, I got exempt from quite a few courses. That was fine and dandy. But last year things got all messed up with my schedule and then one thing lead to another and...yeah. No drawing classes for me. 

That was a bummer. Drawing class has to be hands down my favourite studio class of all time. The only thing that could possibly trump it is painting (and painting is pretty freaking awesome..just saying). 

So this year I was super pumped to be getting back into a drawing class and start doing some fun drawing assignments. And so far it's been cool. But I never expected to be playing with my food to make art. So what we have been doing for the first week or so of class is to try to make a mark with something that you wouldn't normally use to draw with. So after we got the assignment I decided to raid my fridge and forge for things outside.

And this is what I got. 

The samples displayed below are some of my favourite experiments that I did.





Here's my experimentation with blueberries. I really enjoyed it. I liked that not only did I get some nice blues and purples, but I did get a nice ochre colour too from the inside of the blueberries. I really like the different ways that you could use the blueberry to make a mark. It was a lot of fun!




I was trying to play with layers with the blueberries above and then got bored and gave up! Sorry not sorry.




I played with tea and then tried to use paper towel to apply the juices from the blueberries and well as some strawberries that I smushed up. I decided not to experiment with tea because it's one of those things that my teacher considered to be a "cop out" and is over done. So therefore, I just played with it only a little bit.


The next page I just played with whatever I had a the time. Leaves, dirt, strawberries! I even cut/scored the paper a little bit. Then I continued to play with the strawberries. They acted in a similar manner as the strawberries so that was fun.





And then lastly, I played with soy sauce. The soy sauce was fun to play with cool, and I found it looked a lot like coffee or tea when I let it dry. But all I could smell for the rest of the class was soy sauce. Jeez. It really made me want to have sushi or something which I did have by the way. 

So now I have to pick one or two of these to experiment with a little bit before I chose one to use as my final. I think I'm going to play around with the blueberries and the soy sauce more. I'm looking forward to it. 

I'll have some more process work done on Thursday so I'll probably post it on Thursday or sometime later this week. 

Bye~

-Cagsyy

Monday, 15 September 2014

I Don't Even Know.


So this piece was something that I made for one of my art history classes I had second semester of last year. I think it was for my Art Since 1945 class? I don't know. ANYWAYS. From what I remember we were suppose to make a non-compositional art piece reflecting some of the artists that we learned about. 

I honestly don't even know. But I kind of like it? It's one big effed up mess!

Whatever~

-Cagsyy

I'm Back!...Again!

Hi there~!

For those of you who may follow me on here or on tumblr, you may have noticed that I was pretty much inactive for the longest time. It has almost been like what, a year since I last updated this poor blog. For that I must apologize. School was kicking my ass last year and made it next to impossible to update my blogs let alone do my own art. And it wasn't just school, life has it's way of kicking my ass too every so often. I felt so down on myself last year that it really effected my art and me actually making art.  I would really only make art when assigned to. I felt like I lacked some major creativity or willingness to do the thing I love to do. 

And that's to make art. Even if no one else likes it, I love making art and I make for myself. It's my way of showing people..well...me. My art speaks for me when my own words can't. Overall, it is just something that makes me happy! 

So I have decided that I will start posting more online both here on my blog and on my tumblr. I promised myself that I would try (keyword there folks!) to post one new piece of artwork a month. I'll probably end of making more BUT this is just a small goal for myself and it's something that I hope that I can keep up with. You'll probably see a lot of my doodles that I post on my instagram if anything....so yeah my crappy doodles are fine right? right? I also may or may not decide to ramble a little bit on here about life and school if that is cool, I'll probably end up doing it anyways haha. 

My name is Cagsyyy on instagram if anyone feels like following me!

PEACE!

-Cagsyy